I cut open the soles of my feet
to let you know
I’m not afraid of walking
I rub them with salt
and I rejoice
for I’ve still got
a pair of healthy legs
and I’m good to go
my steps will rouse the earth
trudging through dirt
embers and cinders
my toes will worship
rusty nails
broken bottles
the caresses
of the concrete
and we will shout
we’re alive
we are alive
by the god I do not believe in
this is how it feels
and even though
I may chance upon
winter biting at my heels
I will fear no harm
because of the salt
the precious salt
within my feet

Leave a Reply

